voyent
Icefaces 1.7.2 and rowSelector  XML
Forum Index -> Components
Author Message
zoroxeus

Joined: 20/Nov/2008 00:00:00
Messages: 17
Offline


Hi,
whenever i start an iceface project and drag my table after right clicking i can add a "rowselector"
when i compile and run my table, not only the select feature does not work but when i come back to edit... it has disapeared... from the menu
i went in the jsp and for some reasons it seems to move inside the column1 tag....

is this a bug ?
thanks
mark.collette


Joined: 07/Feb/2005 00:00:00
Messages: 1692
Offline


The rowSelector is supposed to be inside a column tag, and not directly inside the table, because tables only allow column and columns tags as children.
[Email]
zoroxeus

Joined: 20/Nov/2008 00:00:00
Messages: 17
Offline


but then does that mean that i have to have a rowselector for every single column if i want to have the row higlited regardeless on which column i have the mouse ?
matti

Joined: 04/Sep/2008 00:00:00
Messages: 30
Offline


Hi,

just add the row selector tag to your first column.
That'll do the job.

Regards,
Matti
edykory


Joined: 27/Nov/2006 00:00:00
Messages: 332
Offline


@Zoroxeus

Check the component showcase (on-line or run it local) and check component behavior. Then you'll be able in the same page to check the jspx and java code for that specific page. This will save you a lot of trouble and time spent on the forum.

Cheers,

Eduard
mark.collette


Joined: 07/Feb/2005 00:00:00
Messages: 1692
Offline


It will apply to all columns, even though it's inside a specific one.
[Email]
zoroxeus

Joined: 20/Nov/2008 00:00:00
Messages: 17
Offline


Thanks that was helpfull altough it is a bit of a strange "design" ...
edykory


Joined: 27/Nov/2006 00:00:00
Messages: 332
Offline


Strange? what do you mean by strange? Java developers can't be strange ... they're just a little bit unusual ... that's all.

PS: Get used to it :) IceFaces is extremely productive, but it has it's own "strange" aspects. You don't like them? Change them and then share the results, that's why we call it open source, remember?

Eduard
zoroxeus

Joined: 20/Nov/2008 00:00:00
Messages: 17
Offline


I can see that Icefaces (as well some other frameworks) are extremely productive.

The problem is that they are productive for someone who already knows more or less how everything fits together,....

For a stranger ... it's just not coherent... there are way too many hidden things that you have to know to actually be productive.

To use it properly... i have to know how it all works ...

you see for example right now i am trying to have a table showing some values from mySQL...
i drag it... drop the mySQL table on top of it... choose my columns...
add the rowselector option... and everything is messed and have no idea why it does it...

i try to learn coding with a bit of everything... so i am not a specialist in anything... i have tried a bit of everything, and I can tell you that MS is light years ahead.
Not about efficiency, or performance, or power, because to be honest it's a big debate... and i am not an expert there but simply in reaching basic users like me...
edykory


Joined: 27/Nov/2006 00:00:00
Messages: 332
Offline


You need just to throw some tables on the screen? Nothing simpler. Take IceFaces (with Facelets of course) and Hibernate. Add to your entities a transient "selected" property for the rowSelector and you're done ... It really takes minutes to do everything. Of course, it's not just point-and-click ... but hey, for me it's the fun of programming and having most of the things under control.
If you want to just take a solution that works ... try Seam+IceFaces ... There's nothing more productive in the Java World ...

Eduard
mark.collette


Joined: 07/Feb/2005 00:00:00
Messages: 1692
Offline


zoroxeus, it threw me the first time I saw it too :)

I recommend, when things aren't working, to check out the component-showcase code, which is visible from right inside the application itself, and any relevant tutorial code.
[Email]
zoroxeus

Joined: 20/Nov/2008 00:00:00
Messages: 17
Offline


Thanks
I did actually take a look at the components thing
Sure there source code is there, but where am i suppose to put the files ?
I mean when i start a "webapplication" with NetBeans... it makes a page1.jsp.... here i have a jspx...
you know the frustrating part is taht you see the code, and it makes more or less sense... but you don't know how to get it started and work !
mark.collette


Joined: 07/Feb/2005 00:00:00
Messages: 1692
Offline


JSPX files are similar to JSP files, except the JSPX files use more of an XML syntax.

If you need help with NetBeans, I recommend posting questions in the Tools section of the forums, since different ICEfaces developers, with more knowledge in those topics, cover that area. As well, the community will be able to better help you.

There are also JSF books you can look into buying. And if you need more hands-on help, we offer several training options, to get you up to speed quickly.
[Email]
 
Forum Index -> Components
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.7ice © JForum Team