voyent
Each portlet instance loads the same javascript libraries  XML
Forum Index -> Portals & Portlets
Author Message
nxMirko

Joined: 02/Jun/2010 11:24:08
Messages: 4
Offline


Hello,
Recently I have been converting my Icefaces 1.8.2 portlets to Icefaces 2.0.0 to be used on Liferay 6.0.5.
Now during testing I encountered the following performance issue. Since my portal page contains quite a number of Icefaces portlets I wonder why each portlet instance has to load the required javascripts over and over again.

My request log shows e.g.:

Code:
 /web/guest/home?_PORTLET_ID1_javax.faces.resource=jsf.js&_PORTLET_ID1_ln=javax.faces&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_col_count=6&p_p_col_id=column-2&p_p_col_pos=1&p_p_id=PORTLET_ID1&p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_state=normal
 /web/guest/home?_PORTLET_ID1_javax.faces.resource=bridge.js&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_col_count=6&p_p_col_id=column-2&p_p_col_pos=1&p_p_id=PORTLET_ID1&p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_state=normal
 /web/guest/home?_PORTLET_ID1_javax.faces.resource=icepush.js&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_col_count=6&p_p_col_id=column-2&p_p_col_pos=1&p_p_id=PORTLET_ID1&p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_state=normal
 /web/guest/home?_PORTLET_ID1_javax.faces.resource=compat.js&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_col_count=6&p_p_col_id=column-2&p_p_col_pos=1&p_p_id=PORTLET_ID1&p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_state=normal
 /web/guest/home?_PORTLET_ID1_javax.faces.resource=icefaces-compat.js&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_col_count=6&p_p_col_id=column-2&p_p_col_pos=1&p_p_id=PORTLET_ID1&p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_state=normal
 
 
 /web/guest/home?_PORTLET_ID2_javax.faces.resource=jsf.js&_PORTLET_ID2_ln=javax.faces&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_col_count=6&p_p_col_id=column-2&p_p_id=PORTLET_ID2&p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_state=normal
 /web/guest/home?_PORTLET_ID2_javax.faces.resource=icepush.js&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_col_count=6&p_p_col_id=column-2&p_p_id=PORTLET_ID2&p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_state=normal
 /web/guest/home?_PORTLET_ID2_javax.faces.resource=bridge.js&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_col_count=6&p_p_col_id=column-2&p_p_id=PORTLET_ID2&p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_state=normal
 /web/guest/home?_PORTLET_ID2_javax.faces.resource=compat.js&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_col_count=6&p_p_col_id=column-2&p_p_id=PORTLET_ID2&p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_state=normal
 /web/guest/home?_PORTLET_ID2_javax.faces.resource=icefaces-compat.js&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_col_count=6&p_p_col_id=column-2&p_p_id=PORTLET_ID2&p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_state=normal
 


My problem is now when the user comes to the website the first time, then the same javascript libraries have to get loaded for each portlet instance on that page. Even the browser cache does not help at that time. So the initial page request sums up to over 6MB size.
Subsequent page refreshes can then get the libraries from the browser cache.

I now wonder whether I miss some configuration parameter (jsf/icefaces or liferay) or another possible way to prevent this behavior.
I would rather like embedding these libraries once and for all statically.

I really appreciate any input on this.

Thanks in advance
Mirko

pstephenson

Joined: 12/Feb/2011 09:44:11
Messages: 2
Offline


I'm also having the same problem. Is there a way to prevent this?
florian.huber

Joined: 13/Jul/2011 02:38:16
Messages: 1
Offline


i also have this problem. has anybody a solution yet?
parag_pk

Joined: 17/Jun/2011 11:31:16
Messages: 1
Offline


I am facing the same issue. Looks like there is no known way to fix it or any workaround.

tmoreira2020


Joined: 25/Sep/2009 00:00:00
Messages: 16
Offline



I'm having the same issue with Icefaces EE-1.8.2.GA_P03 and Liferay 6.0.11 EE. Nobody has solved this before?
PublicVoid

Joined: 29/Apr/2009 00:00:00
Messages: 2
Offline


Lifting this issue...

I have the same with icefaces 3.2 portlets and Liferay 6.1. Each portlet loads icefaces-compat.js, bridge.js and compat.js. I have tried moving the icefaces jars to ROOT\web-inf\lib and included them in liferay-plugin-package.properties but still the same...
 
Forum Index -> Portals & Portlets
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.7ice © JForum Team