voyent
fixviewstate span affecting layout  XML
Forum Index -> General Help
Author Message
futhark77

Joined: 18/Sep/2009 00:00:00
Messages: 57
Offline


I have a hard time achieving a particular layout in in IE 8. One of my panel group occupies more vertical space than expected. With the help of DebugBar, I have found extra space is allocated by a span tag immediately following my form. This span is apparently generated by the framework.

Here's the markup producing the error. The red border will be much larger than the text.

Code:
 
 <ice:panelGroup style="border: 1px solid red" id="aa">
   <h:form id="aaf">
     <h:outputText value="Rows per page: "/>
   </h:form>
 </ice:panelGroup>
 


This is what I see in DebugBar when the form is enabled. Note the presence of aaf_fixviewstate!

Code:
 DIV id=aa class=icePnlGrp
 FORM name=aaf action=whatever
 SPAN id=aaf_fixviewstate
 


If you comment the form contents, the red border will narrow exactly to the text size.

This problem does not affect Firefox 24. The span is still present but does not affect my layout.

All my attempts to squeeze fixviewstate into its (figurative) little box failed.

IE8 is the browser deployed at enterprise level. I am stuck with it.
I am currently on ICEFaces 3.2.0. I will try upgrading if I can find time.
I have eliminated the possibility of conflicts with other styles by removing custom css entirely.
PlanB is to sweep the problem under the carpet. In other words, use a layout that won't show the problem.
Any other suggestions?

Thanks!
philip.breau


Joined: 08/May/2006 00:00:00
Messages: 2989
Offline


Does you see the same problem with 3.3.0?

.
futhark77

Joined: 18/Sep/2009 00:00:00
Messages: 57
Offline


panelGroup is behaving a little better in 3.3 but overall the problem persists.

Here are a few simple tests I did.

1. panelGrid renders incorrectly
Code:
     <h:panelGrid style="border: 1px red solid">
       <h:form>
         <h:outputText value="Rows per page: "/>
       </h:form>
     </h:panelGrid>
 

2. div renders incorrectly
Code:
    
     <div style="border: 1px red solid">
       <h:form>
         <h:outputText value="Rows per page: "/>
       </h:form>
     </div>
     

3. panelGroup renders correctly
Code:
     <h:panelGroup style="border: 1px red solid">
       <h:form>
         <h:outputText value="Rows per page: "/>
       </h:form>
     </h:panelGroup>
 

4. panelGroup renders incorrectly when embedded into a grid (similar to my actual use case).

Code:
    <h:panelGrid style="border: 1px red solid" columns="2">
       <h:outputText value="text"/>
       <h:panelGroup style="border: 1px red solid">
         <h:form>
           <h:outputText value="Rows per page: "/>
         </h:form>
       </h:panelGroup>
     </h:panelGrid>
 


For now I will simply change my layout.

Thanks for your time.
philip.breau


Joined: 08/May/2006 00:00:00
Messages: 2989
Offline


If you would like to post the rendering of the 'incorrect' layout, I can take a look. I think it may have been the case that an extra 'fixviewstate' element that we rendered might have caused some layout differences on IE8, but I believe that we no longer render that in 3.3.0. So I'm surprised you still see the issue with the latest version. In any case, it's likely just a small CSS issue that can be fixed with an extra CSS rule to correctly hide the element on IE8.

Philip

.
futhark77

Joined: 18/Sep/2009 00:00:00
Messages: 57
Offline


Here's what I see.
[Thumb - renderFF.jpg]
 Filename renderFF.jpg [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 4 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  342 time(s)

[Thumb - renderIE.jpg]
 Filename renderIE.jpg [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 5 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  296 time(s)

philip.breau


Joined: 08/May/2006 00:00:00
Messages: 2989
Offline


Ok, thanks. But if you could post the rendered HTML for IE8 that would be easier to inspect.

.
futhark77

Joined: 18/Sep/2009 00:00:00
Messages: 57
Offline


I wasn't sure what you meant. Here it is.
 Filename render.txt [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 8 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  569 time(s)

philip.breau


Joined: 08/May/2006 00:00:00
Messages: 2989
Offline


I've opened http://jira.icesoft.org/browse/ICE-9647 for this and checked in a fix.

Thanks

.
 
Forum Index -> General Help
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.7ice © JForum Team